1855 Rohlwing Road, Suite D,
Rolling Meadows, IL 60008

Call Us Today for a FREE Initial Consultation

847-253-3100

Rolling Meadows Fleeing The Scene Of An Accident Attorney

Palatine Traffic Crimes Lawyer for Hit-and-Run Accidents

Fleeing the scene of an accident is a serious offense that can lead to extremely serious penalties. Sometimes referred to as a hit-and-run, fleeing the scene can be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony. In many of these matters, there is a presumption of guilt on the part of prosecutors and judges. Be sure that you have a reliable Chicago defense lawyer in fleeing the scene of an accident cases.

At the Law Offices of Donald J. Cosley, we understand the penalties that people accused of fleeing the scene of an accident can face and the impact those penalties can have in the event of a conviction. When you hire our firm, we work tirelessly to avoid a conviction and do everything we can to resolve the matter in a way that is most beneficial for you.

Understanding The Penalties For Fleeing The Scene in Illinois

Fleeing the scene of an accident resulting in property damage only: If you flee the scene of an accident that resulted in property damage but no personal injury to any person, or if you flee the scene of an accident involving damage to an unattended vehicle, you will be charged with a Class A misdemeanor punishable by a jail sentence of up to one year, a fine of up to $2,500 dollars or both if you are convicted.

Fleeing the scene of an accident resulting in personal injury: If you flee the scene of an accident that results in personal injury to any person, you will be charged with a Class 4 felony punishable by a sentence of up to three years in a state penitentiary, a fine of up to $25,000 or both if you are convicted.

Fleeing the scene of an accident resulting in personal injury without reporting to police: If you flee the scene of an accident that has caused personal injury to any person and you do not report the accident to police within 30 minutes, you will be charged with a Class 2 felony punishable by a sentence of three to seven years in a state penitentiary, a fine of up to $25,000 or both if you are convicted.

Fleeing the scene of an accident resulting in death without reporting to police: If you flee the scene of an accident that has caused personal injury to any person and you do not report the accident to police within 30 minutes, you will be charged with a Class 1 felony punishable by a sentence of four to 15 years in a state penitentiary, a fine of up to $25,000 or both if you are convicted.

Contact a Schaumburg Felony Traffic Offense Lawyer

Contact our office today to discuss your fleeing the scene of an accident case with a reliable Illinois defense attorney. We serve clients throughout the Schaumburg, Arlington Heights and Palatine area. You can call our Rolling Meadows office locally at 847-253-3100. We offer all new clients free initial consultations.

Back to Top