1855 Rohlwing Road, Suite D,
Rolling Meadows, IL 60008

Call Us Today for a FREE Initial Consultation


Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Devices and Other DUI Consequences

Illinois is one of only 14 states that require first-time DUI offenders to install a Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device (BAIID) on their vehicles. A BAIID requires a driver to provide a breath sample before allowing a vehicle's engine to start. If the alcohol content is above a certain threshold, the engine is disabled and locked out for a certain period of time. The lock out period typically increases in length with each subsequent, failed attempt to start the vehicle.

BAIIDs prevent many would-be drunk drivers from hitting the bottle and then hitting the road. Research shows that BAIIDs reduce subsequent DUIs by 50 to 90 percent, which prevents fatal accidents. In addition to their life-saving benefits, BAIIDs help people retain the ability to drive. That helps restore functionality to a person's life by allowing them to drive to and from work or school or to simply run errands. While a BAIID may seem like a burden, it pales in comparison to the other DUI penalties.

Illinois DUI Consequences

In Illinois, first time DUI convictions carry at least a one-year loss of full driving privileges (BAIID required), up to one year of imprisonment and a fine as high as $2,500. On a second conviction, the court can impose either five days in jail or 240 community service hours. The court can also sentence the person to up to one year in jail and a maximum fine of $2,500. A second DUI conviction in a 20-year period will result in the loss of full driving privileges for at least five years.

A third DUI conviction in Illinois is a class 2 felony that carries a mandatory 18 to 30 month prison term, with a possible prison sentence of up to seven years. The person will lose their full driving privileges for at least 10 years and will be assessed a fine of up to $25,000.

An Aggravated DUI (an accident causing great bodily harm or permanent disfigurement) is a class 4 felony. It carries a maximum fine of $25,000 and at least a one-year loss of full driving privileges. The court can impose 10 days of jail or 480 hours of community service and has the option of sentencing the offender to up to 12 years in prison.

A DUI conviction can carry severe penalties. If you or a loved one has been charged with a DUI offense, contact an experienced defense attorney to discuss your situation and your rights.

Back to Top